Skip to main content

The Cherryville Eagle

Cherryville High School scholar/athletes teams, individual awards recipients a diverse group

The 2019-2020 CHS Ironmen varsity basketball team and their coaches. (Eagle file photos)

[email protected]

Cherryville High School Athletic Director Scott Harrill said the school’s many scholar/athletes received recognition in the form of awards, which will be given out at the 2020 Spring Sports Ceremony. That time and place has yet to be announced, due to the current COVID-19 situation in the state.
Harrill said, via an email, the NCHSAA Scholar/Athlete program, is notably “one of the Association’s most popular voluntary programs and recognizes excellence in the classroom as well as on the playing court or field.
“The program includes recognition of varsity teams that attain certain grades as well as individual athletes.
Individual Scholar/Athletes attain at least a 3.5 weighted grade point average for the semester in which he or she competed.
“The award is based on first semester grades for Fall and Winter sports and second semester grades for Spring sports. The school submits the nomination form verifying the grade point average on behalf of the athlete or team.
“In the team division, a varsity team earns Scholar-Athlete recognition by attaining a 3.1 (unweighted)
aggregate GPA for that designated semester.
“The school receives a certificate honoring the accomplishment and each member of the squad also receives a certificate.”
Coach Harrill said, “I am proud of the NCHSAA Scholar/Athletes and teams we have here at Cherryville. At CHS we strive to have the best student athletes in North Carolina. 
“We really like the notion of the student first, athlete next. I am thankful for the coaches who support these athletes to be the very best in the classroom and on the playing fields. 
“We have great administration and teachers at CHS who go above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our student athletes are doing their very best.
The following 2019 Fall-Winter Scholar Athlete Awards (2020 Spring Sports Ceremony) Team Awards are: Women’s Tennis – 3.4; Cross Country – 3.5; Women’s Basketball – 3.5; Men’s Basketball – 3.5; Cross Country – 3.6; Women’s Golf – 3.6; and Cheerleading – 3.6.
In the Individual Awards categories, the recipients are as follows: Men’s Basketball – Lane Harrill, Noah Abernethy, Gavin Cease, Carson Kelly, Jack Mulvey, Carter Spangler, Dedrick Taylor, and Brent Walls; Women’s Basketball – Terayha Bess, Faith Anthony, Nykera Bush, Gracie Hester, Avery Grace Walker, Maddie Hampton, Ragan Hovis, Gabbie McCorkle, and Hailey Prince.
For Wrestling it is Brady Buchanan, Zachary Chick, Cain Cash, Kenny Ho, Tobias Miller, and Layne Westberry.
Football recipients are: Colton Godfrey, Christian Hahn, Dawson Moore, Logan Barrett, Connor Bradley, Jace Brittain, Haanai Jordan, Sean Kostiuk, Chapel Moss, and Luke Rayfield.
Cheerleading recipients are: Sydney Abernathy, Maggie Beam, Allie Kay Homesley, Isabella Wilson, Breanna Carlson, Pierston Elliott, Emma Heavner, Hallie Holt, Gracie Jackson, and Rylee Grace Burgis.
The Cross Country recipients are: Noah Abernethy, Gavin Cease, Sophia Pfeifer, Lane Harrill, Jack Mulvey, and Gracie Rickard.
The Volleyball recipients are: Terayha Bess, Addie Eaker, Skye Reed, Raven Childers, Brooke Henley, Katie Eaker, Reese Hoyle, Riley Kiser, Jessica Martin Coca, Laura Morgan, Megan Smith, and Landrie Wofford.
Men’s Soccer recipients are: Benjamin Hayes, Chase McNeill, Will Allen, and Julian Guadarrama-Hernandez.
The Women’s Tennis recipients are: Kelly Diaz, Katie Diaz, Elizabeth Pruitt, Gracie Rickard, Savannah Wise, and Julianna Vollmer.
The CHS Ironmen Football recipients are: Andrew Beam, Kadin Beaver, Joseph Dattoli, Christian Hahn, Dawson Long, Jackson Owens, Tanner Sisk, Cooper Sloan, Carter Spangler, and Brandon Williams.