Skip to main content

The Cherryville Eagle

Cherryville High School athletes honored at Sports Banquet

Jan 10, 2020 09:08AM

The Men’s Varsity Football Awards winners were Dawson Moore (Burlsworth Award); Kam Bolin (Most Improved Player/Bobby and Lucinda Fuller sponsors); Kadin Beaver (Stick Award/Ironmen Athletic Booster Club); Jayden Blanton (Golden Helmet Award-Offense/First Baptist Church); Christian Hahn (“V in the C” Award/Dr. Van Dellinger); and Andrew Beam (Golden Helmet Award-Defense/L. Edwin Rudisill Memorial). (photos provided)

Cherryville High School Athletic Director Scott Harrill said, “Sunday, Dec. 8, 2019 was a great day as we celebrated the success of our Cherryville High School Fall Athletes.”  

He continued, “It is not wins and losses that we celebrate, but the courage to push forward, compete, and learn life lessons. It is about friendships and comradery with your teammates and coaches.  

“Athletics is about school pride and community bonding.  We have some of the best coaches around, who truly care about the student athletes. We have coaches who strive for teaching family and core values.  

“I am proud of all of our athletes, from those who made All-Conference, to those who set records, to those who played behind the scenes, as well as those who made everyone around them better.  

“Thank you to all the parents, fans, and community for supporting our student athletes each year.  

“Also, a big thanks to the Ironmen booster club for helping make everything possible. Thanks also to the First Baptist Church of Cherryville for feeding our football team each week and hosting our sports banquet. 

“To our Voice of the Ironmen, Rev. Dr. Vince Hefner, 'Thank You’ for being a positive representation of Cherryville High School!”

The Ironmen Athletic Booster Club officers are: President Preston Long; Vice-President Dana Mull; Secretary Ginny Riffle; and Treasurers Angela Walker and Sarah Fowler.

Mr. Kevin Doran is the Principal of CHS.