Skip to main content

The Cherryville Eagle

Teens Changing Gaston County welcomes new members

Teens Changing Gaston County students going through an interview process, discussing grants to be awarded.



[email protected]

Cherryville High School student Jack Mulvey recently joined fellow Ironmen students Harlee Austin and Sanai Lipscomb on the “Teens Changing Gaston County” philanthropy program.

According to a media release from Erin Wiggins, of the Gaston Community Foundation, “Teens Changing Gaston County (TCGC)” is “a student run philanthropy program that gives youth an opportunity to learn about the grant-making process, how to network with nonprofit professionals and socialize with other teens from around the County.”

Wiggins also noted that TCGC is a program of the Gaston Community Foundation, and consists of 9th-12th grade students in Gaston County that meet once a month during the school year. 

Said Wiggins, “After learning more about the process of grants and their impact, the Teen Board accepts grant applications from fellow peers regarding service projects.

“The teens then evaluate the grant applications and are able to award a total of $5,000 (in grant money) to various projects in the county.

“As a follow up to awarding the grants, teens will volunteer with the projects awarded to experience their philanthropy on a personal level.” 

Wiggins continued, “TCGC is pleased to welcome 22 new members to their existing Board,” adding the new applicants were asked to submit an essay with their application that demonstrated their passion for philanthropy and why they wanted to participate in the program. 

“Once all applications were submitted and reviewed, existing TCGC members invited new applicants to participate in an interview process. The interviews gave returning TCGC members an opportunity to learn more about each candidate, ensuring the most qualified applicants were selected,” she said. 

In addition to CHS’ Mulvey, the following new individuals were selected to join the 2019-2020 TCGC Board: Aubree Baker (Stuart W. Cramer High School); Brandon Barker (Piedmont Community Charter School); Riley Biddy (Forestview High School); Giulia Chitu (Gaston Christian School); Samuel Cook (Highland School of Technology); Henry Current (Gaston Day School); Jack Current (Gaston Day School); Bob Dang (Ashbrook High School); Destiny Faggart (Stuart W. Cramer High School); Jenna Feduniec (South Point High School); Sean Michael Gore (South Point High School); Jackson Guntharp (Mountain Island Charter School); Mazeline Johnson (Highland School of Technology); Emme Lewandowski (South Point High School); Rachel Lowry (Ashbrook High School); Stephanie Quiroz (Ashbrook High School); Emilio Saiz (South Point High School); Sarah Shiflet (Forestview High School); Grant Styers (Forestview High School); Hunter Styers (Forestview High School); and Marco Wright (Gaston Day School).

Also, in addition to CHS’ Harlee Austin and Sanai Lipscomb, the returning members of the TCGC Board are: Gage Adcock (South Point High School); Gillian Allen (Highland School of Technology); Shamarion Blake (Piedmont Community Charter School); Carson Carr (Forestview High School); Zackary Carr (Forestview High School); Connor Corcoran (South Point High School); Anaiah Crawford (Piedmont Community Charter School); Shane Fogarty (Gaston Early College High School); Richie Gray (South Point High School); Michael Harmon (Forestview High School); Charlotte Harwell (Forestview High School); Ryan Howe (Highland School or Technology); Emma Hughlett (Forestview High School); Sadie Matzke (Highland School of Technology); Annabelle Pearson (Highland School of Technology); Chloe Pearson (Gaston Christian School); Annie Russell (Highland School of Technology); Elsa Schuls (Forestview High School); Clark Styers (Forestview High School); and Liam Whalen (Forestview High School).

Wiggins said those wishing more information about the “Teens Changing Gaston County” program, or to stay up to date on the upcoming grant cycle, to please visit, or contact her – Erin Wiggins – at (704) 864-0927, or email her at [email protected]